A Christmas Snippet

A Christmas snippet from book 4 of The Mallory Saga, A Nation is Born – the Mallory compound on The Wabash is recovering from a brutal attack. This piece is from Ethan’s journal:

Enough Ethan, turn to some of the happier things of the last few months. When the raiders had been defeated, we were a very exhausted group, but also very hungry. Once again Waban came through. An hour after the battle concluded a goodly portion of the Piankashaw village came to celebrate with a feast. A mixture of horses and dogs pulled travois loaded with everything needed to feed us all came through the gate. Soon the compound changed from a place of death and fear to one of joy. A temporary village sprung up in the meadow outside our walls with tipis, and cooking fires. I had the chance to talk with Waban and I asked him why they did this. His answer was two reasons; first was that he feels there is a sacred bond between our people. The second was to send a message to the other tribes to keep their raiding south of the Ohio, and to leave us alone. The idea of a sacred bond is something that I hope develops between us and Tecumseh’s people…though with the Shawnee under the sway of the British and that cur Girty, I can’t see how.

Life eventually returned to normal, the house had been repaired, daily chores carried out, in short hard work all around. As winter descended, I began to look forward to the Christmas festivities, although at the time I did not know that during that night of merriment I would add my own touch to the occasion. I should mention that I’d had a few ales, and when Ma wasn’t looking Two Birds would hand me his brandy flask, so that has to be considered. As best as I can recall it happened like this: Monique punched Gabe in his arm, and because she had seen Monique do this often Ma asked her why she did it. Monique said, “It’s a little joke between us.” Gabe, now remember we all had been drinking, replied, “A joke? Ahh, she does it every time I say something stupid.” She punched him again, and we all burst out in laughter. When it died down, I blurted out, “You know, by my reckoning your arm should have fallen off by now.” The room became totally silent then Two Birds said, “Wonderful, an excellent retort. We have a man of wit among us,” Gabe then stood up swaying a bit as he raised his mug in a toast, “To the man of wit, not sure myself why it hasn’t fallen off either.” To which Monique punched him again. The laughter returned. Then Bert said, “Best get Ethan some more ale. Maybe he’ll pass out before he wits on somebody else.” They did.

Leave a comment